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TAXPAYER REMEDIES 
 
This publication tells you how to dispute a tax liability or other administrative action the Taxation and Revenue Department 
takes against you. 
 
The New Mexico Tax Administration Act provides two formal remedies for settling such differences, but it is the department's 
experience that taxpayers often can resolve them without need for formal remedy. You may wish to call your district office 
(listed in FOR FURTHER ASSISTANCE, on the following page to discuss your situation before deciding how to proceed. 
Please note that if you fail to follow the formal remedies outlined below in the time and manner the law requires, you lose the 
right to use either remedy to address the dispute. 

 

OVERVIEW 
 
You may dispute a tax liability or certain actions the department might take against you under the Tax Administration Act in 
one of two ways: 1) file a written protest with the Secretary of Taxation and Revenue without making payment, or 2) 
pay the tax liability and then file a refund claim. Please note that you cannot protest an assessment or partial 

assessment that you have already paid. You must first apply for a refund. Choosing one remedy is an automatic waiver 

of the right to pursue the other.  

 
REMEDY 1: PROTEST  
 
If you choose to protest, you must do so in writing within 90 days of the date of the event you are protesting. That event may 
be the mailing of a notice of assessment of tax, your filing of a tax return showing a liability, or the department’s application of 
a provision of the Tax Administration Act to your situation. The protest must state the taxpayer's name and identifying number 
(social security number for individuals; New Mexico CRS number or federal employer identification number for businesses), 
the assessment number or letter identification number, the taxes involved, the grounds for the protest, a summary statement 
of the evidence you expect to produce to support each ground asserted, and the affirmative relief you want.  
 
The department’s Protest Office will review protests received and if the department does not agree with your position; a formal 
hearing will be scheduled (within ninety days of filing a protest) before a hearing officer on the protested issues. You or the 
department may ask for an informal conference prior to the formal hearing. Many disputes are settled during information 
conferences. Should the protest reach formal hearing, the hearing officer hands down a Decision and Order. 

 

Appeal 
 
Either party (you or the department) may appeal the hearing officer's Decision and Order to the New Mexico Court of Appeals. 
You must file the appeal within 30 days of the date the Decision and Order is mailed to you, or the hearing officer’s decision is 
final. Because appeals are based solely on the information presented to the hearing officer at the formal hearing, you may not 
present new evidence to the Court of Appeals.  
 

REMEDY 2:  CLAIM FOR REFUND  
 
If you believe any tax you have paid or had withheld from you is more than you actually owe, you may file a refund claim with 
the Secretary of Taxation and Revenue. You must claim the refund within three years from the end of the calendar year in 
which the tax was due or in which you paid a Department assessment. The Department treats a protest of a denial or 
departmental inaction on a claim for refund in the same way as a protest of an assessment. The protest must state the 
taxpayer's name and identifying number (social security number for individuals; New Mexico CRS number or federal employer 
identification number for businesses), letter identification number if applicable, the taxes involved, the grounds for the protest, 
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a summary statement of the evidence you expect to produce to support each ground asserted, and the affirmative relief you 
want.  

 
If the Refund Is Denied 
 
If the Secretary denies the claim in whole or in part, you may file a protest with the Department or file a lawsuit in Santa Fe 
District Court. You must do so within 90 days of the date the denial of your refund claim is mailed. If you fail to protest or bring 
suit in Santa Fe District Court within 90 days of the date of a written denial, the decision is final. You may not re-file that claim. 

 
If the Department Has Not Granted or Denied Your Claim 
 
In the event the department has not granted or denied a claim for refund within 120 days, you may protest, bring suit, or re-file 
your claim subject to the three-year limitation described above. If you do not hear from the department within 120 days, you 
have 90 days in which to file a protest. You must act if you have not heard from TRD within 120 days. Section 7-1-26 NMSA 
1978 stops the Department from approving or denying your claim when 210 days have passed, and you have not filed a 
formal protest or a suit in district court.  
 
Please note: if you elect to bring suit, lawsuits are subject to the rules of district courts. You or the department may appeal an 
adverse ruling by the hearing officer or the district court to the New Mexico Court of Appeals. See “Appeal,” on the previous 
page.  

 

TRANSACTIONS ON TRIBAL LAND 
 
If you are engaged in business on tribal land and your transactions are subject to a tribal gross receipts tax that the 
Department administers pursuant to a Gross Receipts Tax Cooperative Agreement, the protest or refund processes are 
different. For Class 1 receipts (sales to a tribe or tribal member by a non-tribal business that are exempt from state tax), the 
Department is not authorized to process a protest related to Class 1 receipts and will refer the protest to the appropriate Tribe, 
Pueblo or Nation for a final decision. For Class 2 receipts (sales to tribal non-members by a non-tribal business that are 
subject to both tribal and state tax), the Tribe, Pueblo or Nation, has authority over the tribal portion of the tax and the 
Department has authority over the state portion of the tax. The Department will process the protest related to the state tax and 
will proceed in the manner described in the protest and refund sections of the Tax Administration Act. The Department will 
make a recommendation to the Tribe, Pueblo Nation for the tribal tax portion of the protest, but the final decision is left up to 
the Tribe, Pueblo, or Nation. The Tribes, Pueblos and Nations who have cooperative agreements are listed on the gross 
receipts tax rate schedule under the counties in which they are located and will have either a “(1)” or “(2)” immediately 
following the name.  

 
 

 FOR FURTHER ASSISTANCE  
 
Mail all protests to the New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department, Protest Office, P.O. Box 1671, Santa Fe, NM 
87504-1671. The street address for private carrier delivery is 1100 St. Francis Drive, Suite 1100, Santa Fe, NM 87505. 

Mail all claims for refund to the New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department, Administrative Resolution and 
Services Bureau, P.O. Box 630, Santa Fe, NM 87504-0630. Local tax offices can provide full service and information 
about the department's taxes, programs, forms and specific information about your situation. Main switchboard 
(Santa Fe): (505) 827-0700. 

 
  ALBUQUERQUE (505) 841-6200   ROSWELL (575) 624-6065 
  FARMINGTON  (505) 325-5049   SANTA FE (505) 827-0951 

 LAS CRUCES  (575) 524-6225 
 

 
This publication provides general information. It does not constitute a regulation, ruling, or decision issued by the Secretary of the 

New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department. The department is legally bound only by a regulation or a ruling [7-1-60, New 

Mexico Statutes Annotated, 1978]. In the event of a conflict between FYI and statute, regulation, case law or policy, the information in 

FYIs is overridden by statutes, regulations and case law. Taxpayers and preparers are responsible for being aware of New Mexico tax 

laws and rules. Consult the department directly if you have questions or concerns about information provided in this FYI. 


